Skip to content

Players retained for IPL 4

December 9, 2010

I covered the news in this post earlier and here’s the completed picture. Some surprises but overall I’d say the franchises just decided to make a clean break and start afresh.

According to the rules, teams will have to spend $ 4.5 million out of their purse of $ 9 million on the players they choose to keep. The first player to be retained will cost the team $ 1.8 million, the second one $ 1.3 million, the third will cost them $ 900,000 and the fourth one $ 500,000.

Teams could choose to retain not more than 3 Indian players out of the four and not more than 2 overseas players. Their contracts, like they were the first time around, will be valid for 2 years with a right of extension in the third year. That’s the rule Ravindra Jadeja found himself afoul of last year and it resulted in him missing IPL 3.

Chennai Super Kings have retained IPL 3 winning Captain- wicket keeper MS Dhoni, all round main man Suresh Raina, opening batsman Murali Vijay and South African all rounder Albie Morkel.

Deccan Chargers will not retain anyone. Not their IPL 2 winning captain Adam Gilchrist, neither all rounder Andrew Symonds nor Rohit Sharma, no Pragyan Ojha, Ryan Harris or Scott Styris. VVS Laxman, we never doubted though.

Delhi Daredevils will retain only Virender Sehwag.

The biggest surprise decision of all is that they won’t retain Gautam Gambhir. Was it because he complained about the pitches and got into a funk he couldn’t get the team out of last year? The man’s hit form after a torrid year, was nominated for the captaincy and took the job when Sehwag, whom he’s got chemistry with, gave up and he’s a Delhi boy for god’s sake! Probably they just don’t feel he’s worth the $ 1.3 million.

Other noteworthy India players overlooked: Ashish Nehra, Dinesh Karthik and Amit Mishra.
Again, surprisingly, they’ve not retained even one of their overseas players: AB de Villiers, Vettori, Dilshan, Nannes, Warner or Collingwood.

Kings XI Punjab’s delayed proceedings against their removal from IPL 4 meant they had no time to work out agreements with their players. Everyone’s on sale. Which is not bad though considering the bad blood that went around last season.

Kolkata Knight Riders will let go of Ganguly, they’ll let go of everyone. Gayle, McCullum, David Hussey and Angelo Mathews all go on the auction table. The sensible thing to do for them, clean sheet and all.

Mumbai Indians have retained captain Sachin Tendulkar, offensive off spinner Harbhajan Singh, slog superstar Kieron Pollard and the slingin Sri Lankan Lasith Malinga. Three good decisions out of four ain’t that bad, Bhajji presumably made it over Zaheer thanks to his back to back test tons.

Rajasthan Royals have retained their IPL 2008 winning captain Shane Warne and IPL 2008 Man of the Series Shane Watson but not Yusuf Pathan, Man of the Match from the IPL 2008 final.

Royal Challengers Bangalore will retain only Virat Kohli, ignoring a big list of T20 players they have at their disposal. Anil Kumble who led their turnaround from their poor first season too has not been retained nor does the Man of the Series at the last T20 World Cup, Kevin Pietersen.

More players they’ve let go of include Rahul Dravid, Robin Uthappa, Cameron White, Ross Taylor and Jacques Kallis.

Teams would kill to have most of these players among their players but not at a cost they weren’t willing to pay, especially if that would have meant conceding an advantage to other teams.

With the rules for the franchises being changed from unfavourable to kamikaze whenever the IPL Governing Council decides it wants to, it’s easy to imagine the managements of teams across the board just throwing their hands up and deciding to make a fresh start.

They know they’re not safe yet, that surviving this can mean not much more than that they die another day.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: