Skip to content

World Cup Winning Machines

May 31, 2010

Sri Lanka, that team which steamrolls India between and in World Cups is now set to become a World Cup winning machine.

They were a World Cup winning machine as can far back as 1996 when they began the winning but a few parts went bad and needed replacing for Sri Lanka to start winning again. The selection panel especially was cranky and guzzled a lot of fuel but that will change  says, Chandrasiri Bandara Ratnayake, Sri Lanka’s sports minister.

Aravinda de Silva, the hero of the 1996 victory was appointed chairman of selectors to spearhead this tune up project. Sanath Jayasuriya, another hero of the victorious campaign, if selected again will be the breaks on Project 2011.

“Aravinda has nine months to prepare and groom a squad that is capable of winning the World Cup,” Ratnayake said. “We have not won the Cup since 1996, my aim is to win another title for our country.”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: