Skip to content

First Look at the Tri Nation Tournament in Bangladesh

December 31, 2009

The third pacer and the replacement for Sachin are the men that Dhoni has to worry about. Kohli and Rohit Sharma have been included as replacements for Yuvraj and Sachin respectively. Karthik ought to make it ahead of  Rohit simply as a better player of the short ball should an opening present itself but it won’t be a surprise if Dhoni goes in with the former.

Tyagi made his ODI debut gleefully on the Kotla pitch and bowled well enough to earn himself another match in Dhaka. Whether Sreesanth was given more time to recover fully from his illness or whether Tyagi figures higher in the scheme of things for LOIs remains to be seen. We can’t afford to lose pacers quicker than we can replace them but it’s truly criminal if we dump them before they get a chance to prove themselves/ lose form.

Kohli is the budget pick to watch out for this series, I expect him to add to his tally of fifties and a hundred.

India squad: MS Dhoni (capt/wk), Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma, Ravindra Jadeja, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Ashish Nehra, Yuvraj Singh, Sudeep Tyagi, Dinesh Karthik, Sreesanth, Ashok Dinda, Amit Mishra
Sri Lanka got tough, got rid of the sentimental picks and have picked side to send a message to the passengers on board. Jayawardene, Jayasuriya, Malinga, Mendis, Kapugedera and Kulasekara were all woeful in India and only Kulasekara remains in the squad (Jayawardene is unfit).

Thilana Thushara returns to replace Malinga, Bandara came back to replace Mendis, Chamara Silva to replace Kapu and newcomer Lahiru Thirimanne to replace Jayasuriya.

The replacements on the India tour Lakmal, Randiv and Welegedera did better than hold fort and brilliantly supported the set players Dilshan, Tharanga, Sangakkara. They will be expected to do similarly well in Bangladesh and deserve to be ahead in the pecking order for a chance to play.

Sri Lanka squad: Kumar Sangakkara (capt & wk), Tillakaratne Dilshan (vice-captain), Upul Tharanga, Thilan Samaraweera, Thilina Kandamby, Chamara Silva, Lahiru Thirimanne, Thissara Perera, Muthumudalige Pushpakumara, Malinga Bandara, Suraj Randiv, Thilan Thushara, Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Kulasekara and Chanaka Welegedera

With or without Mortaza in the picture, Bangladesh’s main man in this tri series was always gonna be all rounder Shakib Al Hasan. I was surprised that he didn’t land an IPL contract last year itself when he topped the ICC charts for leading All Rounders.

With support from a few key players like Tamim Iqbal, Abdur Razzak, Raqibul Hasan and Enamul Haque jr, he led Bangladesh admirably in against the West Indies and Zimbabwe.

Mohammed Ashraful can be a destructive player on his day, just that those days are too few and never did have any sort of frequency.

Some of the teams that were affected from the ICL defections embraced their returning players, some even returned with a big bang  but it remains to be seen how Bangladesh treats it’s ICL returnees Shahriar Nafees and Alok Kapali and whether they can find a place in this new self assured team.

Bangladesh squad: Shakib Al Hasan (capt), Mushfiqur Rahim (vice-capt and wk), Mohammad Ashraful, Abdur Razzak, Tamim Iqbal, Syed Rasel, Raqibul Hasan, Mahmudullah, Nazmul Hossain, Naeem Islam, Imrul Kayes, Rubel Hossain, Shafiul Islam, Shahriar Nafees, Aftab Ahmed.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: